The Other Side of the Mirror (1989)

Stevie Nicks The Other Side of the Mirror 1989The Other Side of the Mirror is Stevie Nicks’ fourth solo recording, a concept album loosely inspired by Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Driven by English producer Rupert Hines’ keyboard arrangements, The Other Side of the Mirror (1989) is a sonic departure from the signature rock sound that characterized her earlier solo work. The album features guest performances from pianist Bruce Hornsby (“Two Kinds of Love,” “Juliet”) and saxophonist Kenny G. (“Two Kinds of Love,” “Alice”).


Modern Records released CD, cassette, and vinyl versions of The Other Side of the Mirror on Tuesday, May 9, 1989 (original date: May 2, 1989). The album debuted at number 10 on the Billboard Hot 200 Albums chart and spawned the single “Rooms on Fire,” a number one song on the US Album Rock chart and number 16 on US Pop Singles. Modern Records heavily promoted the album overseas, which led to Nicks touring Europe for the first time as a solo artist. As a result, “Rooms on Fire” became an international hit in Germany (46), the Netherlands (15), and the UK (16). The song also reached the Top 40 in Australia (23).


  1. Rooms on Fire
  2. Long Way to Go
  3. Two Kind of Love (Duet with Bruce Hornsby)
  4. Ooh My Love
  5. Ghosts
  6. Whole Lotta Trouble
  7. Fire Burning
  8. Cry Wolf
  9. Alice
  10. Juliet
  11. Doing the Best I Can (Escape from Berlin)
  12. I Still Miss Someone