Bella Donna (1981)

Stevie Nicks Bella Donna (1981)Bella Donna is Stevie Nicks’ 1981 solo recording debut. It features the hit singles “Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around,” “Leather and Lace,” and “Edge of Seventeen.” A year earlier, Nicks launched Modern Records with record executives Danny Goldberg and Paul Fiskin as a vehicle for the backlog of unrecorded material that Nicks had amassed over the years. With help of producer Jimmy Iovine and high-profile acts, such as Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers and Eagles member Don Henley, Bella Donna became a critical and commercial success. Nicks later earned a Grammy nomination for Best Female Rock Performance for “Edge of Seventeen.”


Modern Records released the album on Monday, July 27, 1981. It reached number one on the Billboard Hot 200 Albums chart and produced the Top 40 singles “Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around” (#3), “Leather and Lace” (#5), “Edge of Seventeen” (#11), and “After the Glitter Fades” (#32). In 2004, the RIAA certified the album quadruple platinum for the shipment of five million units to retailers. Bella Donna remains Nicks’ best selling album to date.


  1. Bella Donna
  2. Kind of Woman
  3. Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around (Duet with Tom Petty)
  4. Think About It
  5. After the Glitter Fades
  6. Edge of Seventeen
  7. How Still My Love
  8. Leather and Lace (Duet with Don Henley)
  9. Outside the Rain
  10. The Highwayman


“Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around”

“Leather and Lace”

“Edge of Seventeen”

“Edge of Seventeen”

“After the Glitter Fades”